Monday Music

Well, I said last week that I had a funny for an MM.  Well, here it is…

Dys and I were flipping channels on Saturday afternoon when we came across the last third or so of the VH-1 series “100 Greatest Songs of the 80s.”  Gee, 80s music?  Uh, yeah, I’m there.  We’d actually seen it before, but we still enjoyed watching for a while and arguing about which songs should be moved up or down the order.

Sunday morning we were lying in bed, summoning the will to get up (always tough on a weekend morning, huh?) when we heard our son playing with his Legos in the other room.  He was singing out the story that he had them playing.  I wish I could remember the words, because believe me, you would all be in LOL-sville.  Especially the way he drew out “night” into a five syllable “ni-i-i-i-ight.”

So we were laughing as quietly as we reasonably could when Dys says:  “What is that tune?”

We listened for another few seconds.

I turned to her and said:

Tommy Tutone, “Jenny (867-5309)”

What can I say, the boy has taste…

7 Responses

  1. My friends band does this song and one night the phone number just didn’t sound right coming from the stage. I thought about it for a minute and realized the phone number they were singing was MINE.

    Okay, that got a LOL. Score!

  2. Jenny looks like she’s on the game…he should chill out about her a bit. 😀

    When you’re telling the shrink about her, it’s too late!

  3. I would love to hear the story of how they wrote this…

    What is with the bandana around the bass players’ neck?

    I’m sure there’s a story behind it, but I wasn’t able to find it quickly. Too bad!

    As for the bandanna, all I can say is “the 80s.”

  4. I hear this song at least once a week. Apparently the dudes at the radio station really like this song.

    Maybe there’s a “Jenny” in-joke? That would be funny.

  5. I had this song stuck in my head this weekend! Such an earworm.

    As earworms go, at least it’s mostly harmless!

  6. This is one of those songs that has been constantly playing somewhere in the back of my head since the day I heard it.

    I’m not ashamed to admit that I have often applied it to daily tasks the way your son did. Sometimes singing a song helps the day go by either better or faster.

    So you sing about taking the bad guys to ja-ai-aiaiaiallllll too? 😀

  7. We actually have a plumbing company here in RI that uses that phone number as their business number. Brilliant, eh?

    Yep, that’s downright fiendishly clever!

Leave a Reply

