Monday Music

Whoa.  Whatta week.  Honestly, I’m not sure yet what’s in store for this week – could be easier and I may get to blog a bit more, could be Last Week:  The Revenge.  By this time tomorrow I hope to have a better idea about that!  (Cross your fingers and hope the boy and I don’t get the vicious bug that has Dys feeling like crap and sounding like Tom Waits.)

So.  Back to the Monday Music that I wanted to do last week, that has a little something to do with the mystery man pictured at the end of this quick hits post.  The mystery man is one of my Pantheon, my artists that I will go to see if at all possible anytime they’re within a 2-hour drive.  Dys and I made our fourth trip to see him just a few weeks back, and we’ll be blogging about it when we can.  The man’s name is Jonny Lang, and he’s one of the best live acts I’ve ever seen in my entire life.  Today’s Monday Music is one of my many favorites among his catalog, and as the third Jonny appearance on MM he ties fellow Pantheon members Alison Krauss & Union Station for most appearances so far.

Jonny Lang, “Red Light”

I hate it when they disable embedding.  Click here for the music video.

Click here for a mostly-okay live video (a little far out) with an excellent extended guitar solo.  He introduces the band in the beginning here – everyone but the second guitarist is the same as when we saw them.  (I’ll talk more about the band later when I blog about the show.)

Slightly fuzzy and shaky video aside, this performance is very similar to the one Dys and I saw.  When he broke into the Marley “Everything’s gonna be all right” part, the whole audience was in the palm of his hands, and Dys was crying.

I can never tell which is more amazing, his singing or his guitar playing – but most amazing of all is how obvious it is that every night he is completely into the performance, putting his heart and soul into everything he does.  I’ll talk more about that later, too, but in the meantime, if the man ever comes to your town, go. You will not regret it.

6 Responses

  1. Nice song- soulfull. 🙂

    I missed you!!!! I hope this week will be quieter for you.

    Back atcha, fellow baldy!

  2. I have never heard of him…I liked the videos thought. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Glad I could win over a potential new fan! Honestly, as good as his recorded output is, his live shows are better. It boggles my mind that he hasn’t had a live DVD release yet.

  3. though, not thought

    I make that typo all the time!

  4. I’m a pretty big fan of Johnny Lang. This is one of my favorite songs. Good pick!

    Why thankya! I hope having the good sense to love JL balances your readership of my blog on the “good taste” scale. 😉

  5. Don’t you pick on Tom Waits! 😉

    Love the guy, but his voice was all deep and breaking on that “Storytellers” performance, so I thought it made a good funny for a sick lady.

  6. […] Taoist Biker under Life and other states of existence   So, one of the things I’ve been meaning to blog for a while now and just haven’t had the time to do so properly was the little trip Dys and I […]

Leave a Reply

