Quick Hits

Damn, it’s been a busy day, and I HATE spending a big chunk of my morning sweating and the afternoon having to look presentable. Why the hell can’t those two things be reversed? Oh, because if I’d done the sweaty work in the afternoon, it would have been even more unpleasant. But still.

So because I wanna say ’em and I don’t have time for a substantive post today, wtf, here’s some quick hits.

Thanks to Dyskinesia for talking some sense into me about the fan deal, and for doing some research into how to approach the problem. And to MTAE for making some thoughtful comments as well. I’m giving myself at least one more day of a break from thinking about it, though, and then maybe I’ll think about it tomorrow (if I have time tomorrow)!

And speaking of Dys, waltz on over to her blog and check out the coolest photo from our mini-vacation last month. Awesomeness.

As of 7:15 this morning (had some extra time between Dys leaving to meet the kid’s ride to school and when I had to leave myself), I have officially finished my Rock Band drum tour on Hard. HAHAHAHAHA FUCK YOU “RUN TO THE HILLS,” I WIN! MWUHAHAHAHAH!

Whoops, did I say that out loud?

I got tailgated and eventually passed yesterday by a girl in a little black car with Washington state plates. That’s not the interesting part – the interesting part is that, looking through the rearview mirror, all I could see was her eyes over the top of the steering wheel. WTF? Did a 12-year-old boost Mom’s Scion?

I completely dropped the ball and didn’t report the motorcycle racing bombshell that Dani Pedrosa, in third place in the championship, has been released from his contract with his tire supplier, Michelin. This after Honda racing last year said, more or less, that it would be foolishness to throw away their long-standing relationship with Michelin after one rough year.

Y’all who don’t follow motorcycle racing don’t understand what a big deal this is. It would be like a NASCAR racer saying in midseason “You know, this Ford ain’t working for me, I think I’m gonna start driving a Chevy.” It just does…not…happen.

More on that from the inestimable Julian Ryder over at SuperbikePlanet.com.

And finally, Dys may have to blog this to get it right (since she immediately wrote it down), but at the dinner table last night our son said words very close to these: “I think I’m done being handsome. Now, I want to be cool.”

Yep.

6 Responses

  1. Quote: ‘In it, HRC President Hamane-san said “We believe we must have mutual respect in this world of supremacy in order to retain our dignity and to succeed.” The press release opened with references to the 14 world titles and 193 GPs Honda and Michelin had won together. ‘

    Yes, and therein lies the REAL reason that Honda wouldn’t possibly have anything to do with a change from the status quo – the total falsehood of the statement “14 world titles and 193 GPs HONDA and Michelin had won together.”

    The reality of at least 7 of those titles is that VALENTINO ROSSI won them; Honda and Michelin merely get credit for the assist, something Honda wouldn’t admit if someone tattooed it on their foreheads. >:)

    HAH! Damn skippy.

    Counting only the 500cc/MotoGP titles, Mick Doohan (5 consecutive) and Rossi (3 consecutive before the move to Yamaha) account for more than half. Tell me that the bike counts more than the rider for THOSE two, willya?

  2. I lost out on both the handsome and cool parts. I ended up being satisfied with not being scary looking, not smelling like old cheese and trying not to annoy people too much.

    Cool means a motorcycle though…doesn’t it?

    I would have totally accepted scary-looking.

    In his case, I think a guitar or drums qualify as cool. Which is a good thing – he’s got a much better chance with those than a bike.

  3. I don’t think he has much choice in the matter of whether or not he’s handsome. Genetics and all.

    What can I say, I married good. He does look quite a bit like Dys’s father, who was quite the handsome devil in his younger years.

  4. “I think I’m done being handsome. Now, I want to be cool.”

    Hahahahahahahahaha. That is the funniest and most ‘only a kid’ phrase I think I’ve ever heard! Brilliant.

    I’m also glad to hear you ended that grueling tour. I don’t know how you rock stars keep up the pace!

    Hell yes, it was hysterical.

    And as for the tour, hell, I’d started the “expert” tour before I finished the “hard” one. But I only play a 5-7 song set at most. That would barely qualify me as the first act on a four-band bill.

  5. The kid has it all figured out already! Handsome is fine, but cool is timeless. 😉

    If you had said that the car had Nevada plates I would have said you were passed by my tiny friend Amy. She used to have to sit on a phone book to see over the steering wheel when we all first started driving. 🙂

    Nope. Washington plates, tiny blonde head with sunglasses that probably weighed half as much as she did.

  6. I think that’s a sign of aging when you start questioning if somebody is legally old enough to be driving. I’m right there with you.

    It’s the ones in military uniform that look like they should be in diapers that really scare me.

Leave a Reply

