Monday Music

Well, lessee, it was round about 17 years ago this time of year when a wide-eyed 17-year-old TB first set foot on a college campus as a student.  I was just thinking of that whole phenomenon a few days ago and decided that a great tribute to that would be one of the songs that we played over and over that year – on the guitar, on the stereo, on those newfangled CD players (I got my first one for Christmas that year), any kind of way we could.

Steve Miller Band, “The Joker”

Rock Band is a hell of a lot of fun, but I have to admit, it pales in comparison to your first real late-night jam session.

2 Responses

  1. I honestly don’t play any of that stuff or have an interest in it, but I would have to agree that there’s no way it can compare to a real jam….you first real late-night jam or otherwise and I’m sure it’s not as much fun for others to sit on the outside and listen either. 🙂

    To quote my talented musician friend Kevin: “The guitar is not a toy. Rock and Roll is not a game.” (For the record, he was SO not being serious at the time.)

    If I could actually get my wife and son to gig with me, then maybe RB wouldn’t be so much fun. As it is, it’s as close to the Partridge Family as we’re gonna get anytime soon. 😀

  2. This is one of my favorite songs. I have a very long list mind you, but it’s still one of my favorites.

    Mine too, and by the way, congrats on getting your internet connection working again, Ms. Comment Spammer! 😀

Leave a Reply

