Ugh.

My son starts school again on Thursday.  I’m the early riser of the family, which means I’m in charge of first getting up and at ’em myself, but then getting everybody else in the house up and moving.

We have to meet my son’s ride by 7:10.  Which means we need to be ready to leave the house by 7:00, by which time I have to make breakfast for all three of us (usually cereal or PopTarts), lunch for my son and I, and make sure my son is dressed and his backpack ready.

Which means I have to be ready to get my son up by about 6:15 so he can be dressed, eat breakfast, and brush his hair and teeth without having to rush him along.

Which means, ultimately, I’m back to setting my alarm for 0540 as in “OMG WTF” so I can shower, shave, and get dressed before waking him up without feeling too rushed myself.

In my personal opinion, it SUCKS to either a) get six hours of sleep a night or b) go to bed before 10.

And, as if that’s not enough Dys is sick.  In order to have somebody semi-functional around here for the first chaotic few days of school, I’ve packed myself off to the guest room in the basement and the crappy bed therein.  Where I found myself reading and then watching an episode of “Scrubs” on my son’s portable DVD player before clicking off the light at about 10:30 last night.

Beyond that, the whole changeup has my mind in “gotta be up and moving bright and early!” overdrive because it knows it will have to overpower my body at the moment.  So my fuckin’ brain is snapping wide awake at 5am or before every day here lately, the bastard.

I know I’m a morning person, but damn.

10 Responses

  1. The morning time is a time for myself. I go to bed two hours later than everyone and get up at least an hour before everyone (5 hours of sleep). Any disruption of this system would throw me so out of whack that I would, without a doubt, end up N*KED ON THE ROOF!

    Good luck with a change to the routine.

    I’ll be fine in a week or two. Like you, though, I enjoy the quiet time to myself, and morning is about the only time I get it. But no way do I go to bed after Dys. I think I can count on one hand the number of times that’s happened in the last five years.

  2. I went to sleep at 9 last night. 9 o’ clock. WTF? I pride myself on being one of those people who don’t go to bed until midnight or later. The getting old is already setting in. The horror!

    Unless you also ate dinner at 4:30, I wouldn’t start worrying just yet.

  3. What helps with me is getting things laid out the night before. So I’d recommend getting your son’s lunch packed the night before, and his backpack together and next to the front door the night before, and maybe even his clothes laid out, so that all you guys have to do in the morning is roll out of bed and get ready. I’m TOTALLY with you, though. I HATE having to get up earlier – I make myself get up fifteen minutes earlier now than I used to because I was just stressing out rushing around trying to get ready and get to work on time.

    I’d get the lunch ready earlier, but it’s almost always PBJ, and who wants that jelly-soaked bread?

    We do try to have everything else laid out the night before, and are usually successful.

  4. I don’t envy you on that count. I am thankful that my going to bed late/waking up early/don’t need much sleep self only has my own ass to worry about getting ready in the morning. Heehee 🙂

    I love my mornings. No one has pissed me off yet.

    Yep, that’s why my summers are blissful. No need to rush anybody but myself. Even if I AM a little grumpy from time to time that everybody else in the house gets to sleep late.

  5. How about making the lunches before you go to bed? That should save some time. But what’s up with his ride being at 7:10 am? What does he attend… military school??? GAG

    He attends a private school for kids with ADHD, Asperger Syndrome (which my son has), and that sort of thing, that’s about half an hour on the other side of town without morning rush hour traffic. School itself starts at 8, but last year I had to take him out there to before-school care that early so I could get all the way back across town to work and only be 15-20 minutes late. This year one of our friends who lives nearby is starting to teach there, so she’ll take our boy to school every day, but she has to be there early too. We’ll still have to pay for before-school care, but we’ll save probably $100 a week in gas money and I won’t be regularly late for work!

  6. Sounds like you’re going to deserve one of those ‘Scrubs’ high-5’s you taught me about after your survive the first day of your resumed routine. Good luck!

    Oh hell yeah, a The Todd-style high five. “Gettin’ ready for school five?” *ker-WHACK* *snaps fingers*

  7. The Andy??

    The who? Huh?

  8. There really is only so much morning you should endure, enjoy! I meant enjoy.

    I was up at 5:30, dug holes, planted plants we couldn’t yesterday due to rain, drove a couple hours to work, won’t get home until sometime after 9, then sit there to wind down for 2-3 hours.

    I won’t have to get up until 7 tomorrow, won’t have yard work, won’t have to drive 2 hours, won’t be out until after 9.

    Almost like a day off really.

    I’ll take my day over that one. Damn.

  9. I loathe mornings. Thankfully, my child (for the most part) has let me sleep in all summer long. Plus, once school starts she’s pretty much self-sufficient; gets herself ready AND makes her own lunch before waking me at 8:30 a.m. to whisk her down the road to school.

    He’s getting better at that sort of thing – maybe in another year or so he’ll be that self-sufficient. We can hope!

  10. My girls start this coming Monday and that’ll be me, getting them ready for school, quietly, as my husband is just getting to bed from starting his season of night hours from now until December. So I’ll have 2 kids getting up and ready, keeping them quiet & we’re adding a new puppy to the mix next week. Shoot me now.

    Ouch! The whole different-shift thing drives me nuts when Dys works her night-owl times and is dead to the world when I get up. I’ve had coworkers before whose spouses work third shift and they only see each other on weekends. Some have problems with it; but some have said it’s probably the reason they’ve stayed together – they’re not around to drive each other nuts!

Leave a Reply

