Diaries of a Newbie Biker

In reading Peart’s Ghost Rider, I had the idea to take a similar stab.

Long before I bought my Suzuki, I’d held a fascination for Harleys. I gave it up largely on the disbelief of Harley prices and the existence of such a thing as a waiting list for a full-production motorcycle, but for a while I was an HD fanatic – if, ashamedly, not an HD rider.

During that time in my life, my wife’s aunt graciously gave me something for Christmas: an official HD “Rider’s Log.” It was a small, more or less blank notebook with spaces to write ride notes, maintenance log information, important phone numbers and other useful information. I thought it was a pretty good gift, even if it was pleasantly forward-thinking of her to give it to me at that time.

When I actually started taking serious steps toward buying a motorcycle, I remembered that biker’s log and thought it would be really cool if I kept a diary of my rides and other bikerly things. I maintained it for the first several months before letting it peter out and die, but those first months were some heady days for me. So after reading Peart’s book, I dug out my biker diary and re-read it. In doing so, I thought it would be interesting so share…so here it is.

I’ve edited out some obvious information to protect my anonymity, and I’ve made editorial comments in bracketed italics. But otherwise, what’s linked here is the journal of a guy getting the first chance to live out a lifelong dream of being a motorcyclist.

This page will serve as the table of contents, and I’ll link the parts of the diary here, updating as I add new sections.

Part 1: February 12 – March 25, 2004

Part 2: March 27, 2004 – April 30, 2004

Part 2 Supplement:  The MSF Class

2 Responses

  1. I’m one of those pesky HD riders…well, I WAS. I loved (and miss) that bike. People gave me lots of gifts when I got my license even before I bought the bike, but no journal! 🙂 *sigh*

    In my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with HD’s but the price tag. What happened to yours? Sell it? (Hopefully you didn’t take the messy road to ex-bikerdom like I did.)

  2. […] is a 2003 Aprilia Tuono. As I will soon be discussing when I pick up my Diaries of a Newbie Biker series again, I had the pleasure of riding one of these bad boys at a demo day at a local dealer. […]

Leave a Reply

