When They Make The Movie

Memes go around and come around, don’t they?

I was reading HeatherJo’s version of my Albums meme from last week, and noticed that she had a little blog called “The Soundtrack to My Life.”

Well, I already have a Soundtrack blog here, but I was intrigued enough by how the categories were laid out that I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  So, what the hell, here ‘tis.  When they make my life into a movie, this’ll be the soundtrack.
Now if only they stretch reality and get some good lookin’ dude with a great body and an actual ability to play the guitar to play me.

***

Opening Credits: Joe Satriani, “Rubina’s Blue Sky Happiness”

This is just a cool tune.  It starts out with a very memorable acoustic line and does a little mellow and happy rocking later.

Waking up: Ozzy Osbourne, “Crazy Train”

Hey, you’ve gotta be both a little crazy and a little hyped up to face the day, doncha?  Despite the opening riff and the lyrics, I always think of “Crazy Train” as a happy tune.

Average Day: Led Zeppelin, “Over the Hills and Far Away”

“Many have I loved, many times been bitten.  Many times I’ve gazed along the open road…”

First Date: Tesla, “Love Song”

Starts out sweet and quiet, and ends hopefully.  That’s the way a first date should be.

Falling in Love: D’Angelo, “Lady”

I’m biased, I admit.  This song was on the air a lot when I was courting Dyskinesia from afar.  But still, it’s groovy in a dirty-dancing-friendly way while still being airy and cool.  You can feel the smoothly confident grin in this song.

Love Scene: Eric Clapton, “Wonderful Tonight (Live)”

Any questions?

I thought not.

I greatly prefer the live version from the “24 Nights” double album.  It’s slower, and it’s absolutely astounding.  I used to be able to play the fuck out of that song.

Sex Scene: Sade, “Never As Good As The First Time”

Oh yeah.  Sade’s always good for some good sex music.  Mmm-mmm.

Fight Scene: Fight, “Nailed to the Gun”

A somewhat obscure track, so I’ll post a YouTube link for those who’ve never heard it.  This is from Rob Halford’s first band after he left Judas Priest.  I saw them open for Anthrax in ’94, and they were AWESOME.  I always thought this tune would be perfect for a fight scene.  It starts out with a guitar line that always sounded perfect to me for the whole “squaring off” sequence where the two dudes circle, staring each other down – and then when the full band comes in is when the first punches and kicks are thrown.

Breaking Up: Jim Croce, “Lover’s Cross”

A wistful but resolute classic.

Together: Jonny Lang, “Beautiful One”

There were several contenders for this slot, of course, but this one gives me goose bumps.  And it’s got a good pace for slow dancing, which is a definite plus in this category.

Wedding Scene:  Alison Krauss & Union Station, “When You Say Nothing At All”

Again, biased.

Secret Love: Tonic, “Mr. Golden Deal”

This song describes almost perfectly the pain of unrequited love from afar…watching your loved one happily move off into the sunset with Mr. Golden Deal.  “Hey, Mr. Golden Deal:  Tell me, how does she feel?”

Life’s Ok: The Allman Brothers Band, “Blue Sky”

This song always makes me take a deep breath and smile on the exhale.  Beautiful.

Mental Breakdown: Pantera, “Suicide Note, Pt. 2”

If there’s a closer thing to a psychotic break captured on a recording, I’m not aware of it.  If you’ve heard the song, you know what I’m talkin’ about.  Here’s a YouTube link with both parts of the song in one vid, with lyrics on the sidebar.  Part 2 begins at about 4:45.

Driving: Stu Hamm (with Eric Johnson), “Lone Star”

By far the most obscure song on the list.  Stu Hamm is a semi-famous bass player, and this track was on one of his solo albums, so it would only really be known by guitar or bass geeks.  But it’s truly an awesome song, and Eric Johnson’s guitar work is particularly noteworthy.  You can hear a brief live sample here.  One day I’ll figure out how to make YouTube vids and post it myself.

Learning a Lesson: Tool, “The Grudge”

Well, it helped me reinforce an important lesson – that grudges are a waste of my energy.

Deep Thought: Live, “Lightning Crashes”

Maybe it doesn’t make sense to anyone else, but it does to me.  The “I can feel it coming back again” is a fantastic line.

Flashback to Childhood: Bob Seger, “Mainstreet”

A song that talks about remembering younger years, that literally reminds me of younger years as well.

Partying: The Steve Miller Band, “The Joker”

This song just reminds me of all the fun times in college spent drinking and laughing with this song playing on the stereo, playing through our guitars, or both.

Happy Dance: Rob Zombie, “Dragula”

Rob Zombie is about as close to dance music as I come!

Regretting: Lynyrd Skynyrd, “Tuesday’s Gone”

Again, any questions?

Long Night Alone: Skid Row, “In a Darkened Room”

Probably not all that well-known, but trust me, this song embodies the “long night alone” premise.

Death Scene: Thrice, “The Artist in the Ambulance”

Maybe this is cheating, because the character in “Ambulance” survives, but I always thought both the song and the imagery kicked ass – a humbled man vows not to squander his second chance at life.

Closing Credits: The Stanley Brothers, “Angel Band”

Simple, beautiful.  Like life should be.

4 Responses

  1. One of my ex’s asked me to marry him while ‘Wonderful Tonight’ was playing.

    I said ‘no’.

    Oh, burn. So, after that moment, was the relationship measured in months, days, or minutes? 😀

  2. Months. We broke up six months later. The restraining order came a few months after that…

    Ugh. Sorry I asked! 😦

  3. I won a drag race while listening to Dragula. That was a really good night.

    Okay, I’d LOVE to hear this story!

  4. My high school boyfriend’s friend dedicated “Dragula” to me. I don’t think he meant it as a compliment…

    Hmm. I would always take it as a compliment, but I suppose I’m missing the context.

Leave a Reply

