Win-Win

In case you were under a rock for a few weeks, there was a buttload of flooding all throughout the Midwest not too long ago.

My in-laws are involved with an effort to collect household items to donate to flood victims.  Dyskinesia and I are all over this.

See, we’ve been meaning to have a garage sale for some time.  In fact, we still have a lot of stuff that didn’t sell at our garage sale last year.

Dyskinesia has also seen the part of the world where she grew up smashed by floodwaters before, was horror-stricken both then and now, and was possessed with the need to do something to help out.

So now we’re helping out.  Clothes, household items, kids’ toys and books, they’re being packed up in our house as we speak.  When I go to pick up my son this weekend, I’m going to trade out for the boy and his gear as much stuff as we can cram into my car to send to the relief effort.

We’re lucky to be in the position to offer help instead of being the folks who’ve lost everything.  And we’re thankful for that.

And yes, to be honest, there’s also that little feeling of “Yay!  We’re getting all of this stuff outta the house!!”

4 Responses

  1. I’ve done a lot of that lately. I’ve packed up some old clothes and some canned goods to send to the flood victims. I’ve also packed up some of our old books and DVD’s that we don’t watch anymore to send to the troops. I’m hoping that I’m fixing my karma a little bit by helping people either start over or forget where they are for a little while.

    Rock on!

  2. That’s a great idea! Can ya swing by my house & pick up a couple of bags of clothes, toys & books? Please.

    I’m not gonna have enough room left in the car!

  3. I have some clothes and bedding ready to donate. I don’t have much to give, but I sure do try. The one thing that I do have that is always a welcome gift is my blood.

    We had lots of flooding here in my neck of the woods a few years ago. My basement still isn’t “right”. We didn’t get nearly the extent of water as in other parts of the country so I try not to complain too much, but enough that it was considered a disaster area and FEMA came in. 😦

    Yikes! Glad you were one of the lucky ones. Or luckiER, I guess.

  4. I hope you have enough stuff to entice the in-laws to make the trade!

    I guess I did! I definitely got the better end of the deal.

Leave a Reply

