Things I Hate

Add to the LONG list…

When I’m doing something as nefarious and wildly risky as reading Sports Illustrated’s web site at work over lunch, and the virus protection pops up and says “Caught something.”

So I run a quick virus check.  Nothing.  So I reboot and run a FULL, 40-minute-plus virus check.  Nothing.

But even after that, I’m doing nothing particularly memory-intensive, and yet my hard drive is spinning right round baby right round.  Like a record, baby.  And the little light is winking at me like a desperate, spastic, and meth-amped hooker.

These are the kinds of things that make a guy jumpy.

5 Responses

  1. Is “READING SPORT’S ILLUSTRATED web site” code for something else? TIme to fess up!

    Hallie

    Actually, no. I was reading their “Extra Mustard” section and watching the video of “Freestyle HORSE.”

  2. At a past job occasionally I’d get a site blocked, and it made me all kindsa twitchy b/c I was paranoid that they were tracking my behavior online. Well, this was a gigantenormous insurance company with bajillions of employees. There’s no way that they’d get offended at what lil ol me was doing online, you know?

    I am more paranoid about whoever comes up behind me. Hate having my back to the doorway of a cube that’s right next to the water cooler where people walk by a kazillion times per day.

    I had that position at my last job. There was a doorway behind my cubicle where people could pass through the room where I was into another hallway. I once read an office feng shui article that called that the “ambush position.” It sucks. I MUCH prefer my setup now, where my desk faces my doorway and you can’t see my computer unless you come all the way into my (small) office and stand beside my desk.

  3. You should be alright, as long as you aren’t downloading pictures of desperate, spastic, and meth-amped hookers.

    Not today! 😉

  4. I don’t like whirring noises coming from the hard-drive. Our IT guy once told me to kick the CPU when that happened. That didn’t seem like good advice.

    Seems like that scene from “Flight of the Intruder” (Vietnam pilot movie) in which a bomber component messes up and the more experienced pilot says “The damned manual actually says to kick the thing to free up the gears” or something like that.

  5. […] 10, 2008 NFO Posted by Taoist Biker under Life and other states of existence   Remember my whirring hard drive from yesterday?  Well, apparently said whirring hard drive was the initial sign of a nasty adware […]

Leave a Reply

