Woohoo!

I reached a goal today!  And no, not my fourth post in a day…I dunno what’s up with me today with that.

I finally successfully swam 1000m in 30 minutes over my lunch hour.

True, I cheated a little bit – the pool was set up in short course, so I got to push off of the wall every 25m instead of every 50m.  So to atone, I put in an extra 50m at the end and still got it in under half an hour.  I’d never even attempted to do 200m without a rest until today, but I made the 1km by doing four 200m’s back to back with rests of a minute or so between them.  I figured, the pool’s not crowded so there’s no distractions, I’m feeling pretty good, why not push myself a bit?  And it worked!  Woohoo!

And the swim camp being over meant that afterwards, I got to shower and get dressed in an empty locker room instead of one crawling with 9-to-15-year-olds.  That just felt like a treat in and of itself.

Which is good, because since I’ll be on the road for 10 hours or so tomorrow ferrying lil’ guy to the grandparents and coming back, no celebratory booze for me tonight.  (I’ll celebrate with cheapo-bucket chocolate ice cream instead.)

3 Responses

  1. Woohoo!!

    Empty locker room = Woofrigginhoo! (I love empty locker rooms, can you tell?)

    Damn skippy.

  2. So long, swim campers! Congrats to you 🙂

    Yeah, and don’t let the locker room door hit you in your skinny butts on the way out!

    I confess, I think it’s cool. Way too competitive for something I’d ever have enjoyed, but cool nonetheless, especially that the university gets involved.

  3. Swimming would be better for me if there was a better way to breathe. Why couldn’t we have some gills? I forget to breathe enough and then I end up nearly dying out there.

    That is a long way to swim. Excellent.

    I agree. That’s why scuba ROCKS.

Leave a Reply

