Deflation

There are humbling things in this world. “Is it in yet?” is probably the worst, of course, but there are others that still suck.

Like working on your CV for your review…and using as a template the CV of a colleague who is far, far, FAR more accomplished than you are.

“Jeezus, she has 43 entries here! I have, uh, two. Oh, fuck, in this next category I’ve got NOTHING. Damn. It’s a good thing there’s no money for raises this year, I guess.”

My ego is not normally very large…but it’s deflated a bit more right about now.

2 Responses

  1. I am turning my CV into a resume right now, and it totally sucks to turn 6 pages into 1. That’s my trauma…

    Ooh yeah, that sucks. If it makes you feel better, I once had to reduce my 140+ page master’s thesis to less than 20 in order to boil it down to an hour so I could give a public lecture. THAT was fun. (Well, to be honest it was a pain in the ass, but it made for a kickass lecture in the end.)

  2. I just copy the one I used for the prior year and change the dates… heh.

    If I’d been keeping up like I should have, I’d do that too!

Leave a Reply

