RIP Harvey Korman

That note on the crawl on the morning news just gave me a downer. Boy, will I ever miss Harvey Korman.

What’s the best memory of Harvey? As Count De Money in History of the World, Part I?
“De Monet. DE MO-NAY.”

Sorry. Maybe as Heddy Lamarr in Blazing Saddles?
“That’s HEDLEY.”

Sorry.

Nope. Those are fantastic, and I love him for it, but he surely did his best work on one of my favorite old shows, the Carol Burnett show. And I’ll especially remember him in times like this one: Trying his damnedest (and utterly failing) to NOT crack the hell up at Tim Conway.

Rest in peace, Harvey. Thanks for all the laughs.

6 Responses

  1. A true comedy legend.

    Damn skippy. I miss him already.

  2. He’ll most definitely be missed.

  3. I loved his sketches on the Carol Burnett Show…

    The worst part of losing a star such as Harvey Korman is knowing that future generations may never see him or understand that era of comedy.

    You’re exactly right. Hell, there’s no such thing as a variety show nowadays – there’s nothing to compare it to. My wife and I LIVE for those occasional Carol Burnett reunion/retrospective shows. God help us, eventually we’ll probably start splurging on the DVDs.

  4. Oh no! Damnnnnn!!!

  5. Watching The Carol Burnett Show was one of my favorite things as a kid and I LOVED when the entire cast would have to fight to keep from giggling at each other. There just seemed to be magic between all of them.

    Absolutely. That was a killer bunch of entertainers. Too bad they just can’t pull off anything remotely like it nowadays.

  6. I sort of disagree that they can’t pull it off nowadays. I’ve known many amazing writers and read many awesome sketches. They just don’t. It’s so packaged they boil the flavor out of them. I’ve read some great scripts then been hard pressed to recognise it later.

    The state of sketch comedy is piss poor. I have trouble watching it. Extending a two minute bit past the breaking point, repeating a tag line in hopes it becomes a catch phrase, and depending on mugging instead of the quality of the writing.

    A few years ago I was hired to shoot an ‘improv’ group. I’m in the studio with cans on but could still hear the performance. I know for a fact the ‘improv’ they were doing was scripted because I saw the script. I have no problem with that. You want to be at the top of your game when it’s going to stick to tape.

    But even with their A game planned it was painful. During a change one of the performers came up to the three camera people to tell us we could laugh with the shills they’d brought with them. The more the merrier, you know. The other camera people looked at me (I didn’t know them but knew we all felt the same) so I said we’d love to but, with the cans over our ears, we couldn’t hear their jokes. Everyone sighed in relief.

    We were over the house of an actor who worked with me when he started on the state of sketch. His belief was that what we did in the early 90’s was much better than what’s being done now and all that jazz. The part I thought was funny was because he told my girlfriend how much he enjoyed working with my scripts it was the first time she admitted I may be funny (she’s not a fan. Doesn’t read me, never saw the show – I doubt I could pull tapes if she wanted to – just thinks I’m an idiot). Guess you need that third part endorsement even if it only counts for a minute.

    You know what, you’re right. I think part of the problem is the neutering that the networks do nowadays, and part is that the television audience has just dumbed itself down to oblivion.

Leave a Reply

