Silver Screenings

A meme shamelessly stolen from Sarah, who stole it from someone else in turn. You know how that goes…

1. One movie that made you laugh: Young Frankenstein. Holy crap, do I love that film. I’ve always loved parody, even as a kid, so Mel Brooks films always kill me, but this one is my favorite. So many moments. “Quick, give him the…” “What? 3 syllables…first syllable…sounds like…head!”

2. One movie that made you cry: For the longest time I couldn’t remember one, but last night when I came home my wife and son were watching E.T. and I remembered bawling in the theater as a kid. As an adult, I don’t think a movie has made me cry, but the guy on Omaha Beach crying for his mama in Saving Private Ryan came pretty close. And so did the very end of Titanic, after Rose died and she was reunited with Jack and everyone on the Titanic. Partially because that’s what I’d like to believe an afterlife is like – being young, and back in the place and with the people you loved. And partially it’s because of that damned Irish music. That stuff always gets me for some reason. And I’m not even Irish (as far as I know).

3. One movie you loved when you were a child: Count me as one of the legions of Star Wars kids. In more obscure fare, though, I always liked that 1981 movie Excalibur. But I was always a sucker for Arthurian legend as a young kid.

4. One movie you’ve seen more than once: Faster. Damn, I love that movie. And I love to love that movie. And I love to make people watch it who otherwise couldn’t give a shit. Most finish still not really caring too much, but a few have really gotten into it. (Thanks, honey.)

5. One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it: I used to be embarrassed to admit that I love Big Trouble in Little China, but not anymore. That damned movie rocks and you know it. We really shook the pillars of heaven, huh Wang? No horseshit, Jack.

6. One movie you hated: The Phantom Menace. Way to fuck up a franchise, George.

7. One movie that scared you: Eh, nothing has ever kept me up at night or keeps me from showering in the house alone (my aunt still won’t – good one, Alfred!) – but I have to say that The Blair Witch Project was well-done. I watched it the first time alone in the house with the lights out, and it was pretty spooky. Sadly it doesn’t hold up well to repeat viewings.

8. One movie that bored you: Ghost Rider comes to mind. So does The Matrix Revolutions.

9. One movie that made you happy: Pulp Fiction. I remember when it came out, I didn’t see it at first, then we went back to school after summer break.  My roommate points at me and says, “YOU have to see it.  It’s right down your alley.”  He then points at my then-girlfriend and says, “YOU…not so much.”  Heheheh.  He was right on both counts.

10. One movie that made you miserable: Phenomenon. It was a mediocre movie to begin with, but nothing horrible. The horrible part came in because by about two-thirds in, I had to pee like a Russian racehorse. And it just got worse. The part that pissed me the fuck off is that that movie had at least four points at which it could have ended before it actually ended. And at each point, I was thinking, “THANK GOD, FINALLY I can go take a leak. Just another minute. I can hold it another minute.” Nope. None for me. By the end of it I was positively in agony. To this day every time I think of that movie I get pissed the fuck off.

At least neither myself nor anyone else got pissed on.

11. One movie you weren’t brave enough to see: No such animal. I keep wanting to watch Se7en, which my wife watched once and freaked her out so bad that her decree is that I can only watch it when she’s completely out of the house. Now that makes it inconvenient, but it also makes me curious.

12. One movie character you’ve fallen in love with: Jules Winfield, muthafucka.

13. The last movie you saw: In a theater, Iron Man. (Just like Sarah! Hah!) At home, the last two thirds of My Super Ex-Girlfriend. I probably enjoyed it more than it warranted, but at the time it made me chuckle. But I think Anna Faris in particular is fantastic in comedies. Holy CRAP if you haven’t seen her in Just Friends you should go out and rent it right away.

14. The next movie you hope to see: Meh. Nothing I see coming soon looks all that interesting to me. If I had to pick, I guess I’d say The Dark Knight even though that in conjunction with Iron Man makes me look even more comic-book-geek than I actually am.

So…anything I should see?

5 Responses

  1. Holy crap, I forgot about Excalibur! And I love Anna Faris, she really is hilarious in Just Friends. She is actually the reason I love that movie so much.

    Absolutely. That, and I LOVE the interaction between Ryan Reynolds and his little brother. That is sheer perfection.

  2. This looks like fun…we’re ramping up to leave town, so I’ll re-visit this when we return.

    Saving Private Ryan tore me up.

    Me too. Nobody in my family served in WWII (they were too old or too young – but my wife’s beloved grandfather served in Europe), but many men from my hometown and all over southern Virginia served in the 116th of the 29th, and were in the first wave onto Omaha. That’s why the D-Day memorial is in a podunk town in southern Virginia instead of in DC someplace.

  3. this is great, i might have to steal it.

    also, the first time i saw titanic, and, this is sooo embarrassing, the ending you described hit me really hard for no reason. i was crying so hard, and i couldnt stop! i’ve shed tears during movies plenty of times, but i was all out hysterically bawling.

    and this was when the movie was insanely popular, multiple showings, long lines, etc. so by the time i regained my composure, the other people were starting to enter for the next showing. i felt so stupid, but there were theater employees at the exits with tissues and breath mints, so i couldnt have been the only one.

    Judging from the screening I was in, hell no, you weren’t the only one. But I could never tell if they were crying because OMG LEO DIED! NOOOO!!!!

    Just kidding. My wife was crying, and even I, big stonehearted guy that I am, was getting misty-eyed.

  4. Se7en was pretty cool.

    With three young kids in tow and in the house, it is hard to see many real movies the way they should be seen.

    Ain’t THAT the truth. Hell, we even quit watching “Scrubs” on TV with the kid around once he parroted the wrong innuendo.

  5. […] 30, 2008 in Uncategorized I stole this idea from Taoist Biker, but I told him I was going to. And he stole it too, so pass it on if you need a writing […]

Leave a Reply

