Crosstown Traffic 2

My son and his friend were at it again this morning.

We frequently get stuck behind a handicap-access school bus in the mornings.  It’s a bit frustrating as we’re in the far left-hand turn lane, waiting to get onto a major highway, and the bus keeps the flashing red stop sign out until the kid gets all the way in the bus, settled in, and THEN it turns off the red lights and turns on its hazards for another several minutes.  It generally holds up three lanes of traffic for a solid five or six minutes.  But what do you want them to do?  It’s a handicapped bus, and I’d sure want them taking that good care with MY kids if it was me.  So I try not to get too annoyed.

Anyway, this morning:

[My son’s friend]  “If I was driving and a school bus put out its red-means-stop, I’d go straight ahead.”
[My son]  “If a policeman sees you though, he might take away your money if you have any, or he would take you into custody.”
“Custody?”
“That means jail.”

Hey, at least they weren’t after me again.

3 Responses

  1. Kids are so much fun. I have all three of my sisters monsters today. And they’re all fighting and screaming at each other. Can I take a nap now?

    I ain’t gonna lie to you – it wasn’t our choice to have only one child, but there are definite advantages…

  2. I’m sure the attention will be directed back to you any day now, don’t you worry. 😉

    Damn you. It was, this morning. You jinxed me!

  3. At least your son was on the side of the law in this conversation.

    Aspies tend to be very rule-focused. My son is pretty much always on the side of law and order. When he graduated from kindergarten, each kid got a little framed-certificate “award.” His was a picture of a train, dubbed the “Keeping Us On Track Award.” “Uh, Ms. Teacher, we’re supposed to be doing Circle Time after exercises, not Letter People. Ms. Teacher, Bobby isn’t listening. Ms. Teacher, it’s supposed to be Shelley’s turn to be line leader.”

    They actually had to teach him the ability to deviate from routine – a task that, I must admit, they did marvelously. I love my kid’s school…all except the one day a month that I pay tuition.

Leave a Reply

