Growth

I’ve had leadership positions over the years…hell, starting in elementary school. But it’s been a long time since I actively sought anything like that. I think there are lots of reasons, really: mostly a cocktail of introversion and aversion to criticism, I guess. It’s seemed more in keeping with the Tao to sit back and let the world drift by me than to wade in and stem the stream.

One thing I learned from my big hell week last week (and the buildup to it) is that, at this point in my life, given the opportunity, I relished it.

I’m actually somewhat surprised, but after a lot of reflection (some quiet time today helped) I think that’s a fair statement.

It was a hard experience, and being the go-to guy (especially after my main partner’s illness) would once have been something I loathed. But it was also a rewarding experience, and being the recognizable point man ended up being something I enjoyed. Even considering my big screw-up that ticked a few people off. The goof was a decision made by three of us, but I took public responsibility for it, took the heat for it, and
even that made me feel good in a way.

On some reflection, I guess this is a hint to myself: I’m not a kid anymore, and a man’s place isn’t always just sitting back and watching the world go by. Sooner or later, a man needs to step forward and not be afraid or ashamed to be a leader.

I think that, after being still and listening to myself for a while, my inner voice is saying that now’s my time.

One Response

  1. Taoist Biker for prez in 2012?

    2012 would actually be the first election cycle in which I’m constitutionally eligible to be elected President…

    Seriously, as a little kid I wanted to be President. All the way up until I was in high school my vague “plan” was to go to law school as an entry into politics. It was only as a junior or senior in high school that I became sufficiently disillusioned with politics as practiced to chuck that career path.

Leave a Reply

