Commentary

I’ve been pondering changing the way I leave comments on my own blog and going to something like Sarah and Allison (among others) do, that is, editing the comment and leaving my reply in bold. I have no idea how others have decided how to do this, but from my point of view, the main “pro” of changing would be to stop cluttering up my comments sidebar with my own avatar and/or stop inflating my comment count. The “con” would be that it’s sometimes a little harder to see replies, and that it might be a little more of a pain to edit someone else’s comment instead of just leaving my own.

So, I ask the only people whose opinions matter as much as mine (well, almost): my readers – do you have a preference? Or is this the kind of minutia that only a dork like myself notices or cares about anyway?

8 Responses

  1. I don’t have the comment sidebar issue, but I did it to avoid inflating my comment count and to more clearly match my response with the original comment. I also think it keeps it a little less cluttered, and I’m all about that.

    Regarding my opinion of how other people handle it, I don’t really have a preference…I just appreciate the acknowledgement.

  2. Hmm, I suppose it would be less cluttered. Personally, I think it would look better. With the new commenting system I have, I can edit comments now and do that if I wanted to. Blogger doesn’t have the ability to edit comments. Another reason I ditched it.

  3. I’ve thought about doing it that way (I do like the way it looks) but if the person who commented checks back and doesn’t see responses they may not check.

  4. I don’t have a preference myself – I just leave a list of bulk responses in a single comment on my own site because I’m too lazy to go into each comment and edit it from the web panel.

  5. WhneI first started blogging I added my own comments by editing the original authors post. Being a newbie, after seeing how others did it I thought I was using poor protocol and started just adding a comment. I would agree that its sometimes difficult to see a reply in the edited version and personally, I will look at the commment count on blogs I’ve responded to to see if the author replied and don’t go further if the number doesn’t reflect a reply.I would think that an edited reply would be more personal to the original comment author. I would also agree that adding comments in reply artificially inflates the comment count, but then again, as a new blogger I need all the help I can get….:-D

  6. Wow, I never even realized that my leaving a comment in response to someone else’s comment counted as part of my comment count. I just started editing because I thought it looked better and I didn’t like to see my own avatar on my sidebar. Sometimes I’m really oblivious to obvious things.

  7. Okay, it’s official, from now on I’m going to do less commenting-back and more editing of comments. I agree, I just think it looks better both in the comment field and without my mug on the sidebar.

    This one is the type of exception you’ll see…one single reply to multiple comments. 😉

  8. It does look neater when the comment is edited. However, the edit will not generate on the dashboard as a new comment, leaving me wondering if there was a response.

    True. I figure it out by looking at the “My Comments” in WordPress – it shows your recent comments, and in the case of Allison and Sara’s blog (and now mine) the bolded reply should show up on your comment.

    For now I’m sticking with the bold; if it becomes an issue for anybody, bug me about it and I’ll consider changing back. It’s not like it’s life-or-death either way.

Leave a Reply

