Monday Music

In deference to Allison and her decade series (in this case, I’m referring to her 80s blogs), I finally plugged a gaping hole in my 80s-kid experience.  I finally watched the movie “Purple Rain.”

Yes, I’m serious.  Never saw it before.  But I’ve been thinking a lot about old 80s music and 80s life lately (partially in thanks to Allison, so gracias!), and after a long week of busting my ass at work, it seemed like a good use of a Saturday night to make a couple of quadruple Bacardi and Cokes, sit back with my wife, and watch “Purple Rain.”  We were both in a good mood, so we ended up doing a quasi-MSTing as we went.  Now THAT was hysterical.  Just a few of our better laughers:

[Watching the trailer on the DVD before the movie]
My wife:  “Isn’t that the same guy that does all the preview voiceovers?”
Me:  “Yep.  [imitating That Guy’s Voice] ‘In a world…where a miniature Jehovah’s Witness can become a star…'”

My wife:  “Nice bedroom.  Does it come in hetero?”

A good time was had by all.  We’re both fairly rabid fans of the album, anyway.  For me, it was the first album I ever had on cassette.  I got it for Christmas, when I got my first boombox cassette player.  I was 10.  And my parents hadn’t listened to it beforehand.  They were unthrilled, but to their credit, I was allowed to keep it.  My wife, on the other hand, wasn’t allowed to have that album.

On the one hand, you could say that’s how I ended up being the shaved-head death-metal guy and she’s the pretty, nice girl.  On the other hand, look who she married.

Anyway, this song has been in my head since Saturday night, so I might as well share it.  Enjoy!

Prince, “Purple Rain”

From what I understand, if you want to check the video, better do it soon.  Supposedly Prince is right up there with Tool in terms of people who scour the ‘net for their stuff to take it down as soon as possible.

8 Responses

  1. My brother gave me his used Purple Rain cassette tape as a Christmas gift in 1984…then he changed his mind and took it back. *sigh*

  2. Gaah! Wretched cruelty!

    Of course, aren’t you a year or two younger than I am? Looking back on it, I was definitely WAY too young to be listening to “Darling Nikki” in 1984. Life-changing moments, there…

  3. Loved that movie. So did my mom. LOL!

  4. You watched it with your mom? Yikes. That would have ruined the best scene for me.

    [Apollonia stripping to dive in]
    Me: “Ladies and gentlemen, the stars of the show!”

  5. I’ve never seen this movie. Admittedly, I’m not a big Prince fan either. I grew up in the 90’s.

  6. I’m a sick puppy (heavy metal/punk girl remember)I absolutely LOVE Prince. My mom and dad are concerned about my (seemingly) random taste in music. Purple Rain in one of my top 10 movies (I too love to mock the crap out of it).

  7. Hehe, I like. I was a big 80s music guy (and still like some of it), and I’ve never seen that movie either!

  8. […] but “Purple Rain” was a great album (and an even better movie…if you’re looking for MST3K-fodder).  This song is just the most upbeat feel-good of that bunch.  (The fact that Public Enemy […]

Leave a Reply

