Jeff Healey, 1966-2008

Holy shit, I just now found out that Jeff Healey finally succumbed to his (literally) lifelong battle with cancer at the age of 41.  Goddamn, that’s depressing.

Angel Eyes not only is one of the best slow dance songs on Earth, but the original studio version also has what is in my opinion one of the most perfect guitar solos ever recorded (starting at about 3:53 in the video linked above).  His hit “How Long Can A Man Be Strong” is also a highly underappreciated gem.

Rest in peace, and thanks for the inspiration.

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE that song. I recorded it off the radio back in 89(?) and played it over and over again while I got ready for school in the morning.

    That song started playing at my gym a month or so ago while I was on the crunch machine and I went into a total daze over it. Then the staff changed the station to some stupid dance mix. I was outraged.

    I need to get that song and put it on my MP3 player. 41. That is very sad.

  2. Yeah, so sad, eh? He was amazingly talented.

    And you know what I just hear this morning? Patrick Swayze has pancreatic cancer. Damn.

  3. Got the song. All is well.

Leave a Reply

