Back …mostly

Hey folks, I’m back home, in harness, and swamped with work that I missed during those few days out.  Holy crap, all I can hope is that this means job security.

As for the trip, well, my in-laws’ anniversary party, that I was dreading, turned out to be a hoot.  I know that there were 40 cases of Bud Light gone the next day, and 12 bottles of liquor completely emptied (including the Maker’s that I donated to the cause) but god only knows how much more.  The bar did somewhere in the neighborhood of $3000 that night, and that’s not counting the food, because my in-laws donated the food.  Whoa.

The rest of it…my son’s sick, my wife probably has pneumonia, the air temperature yesterday when I woke up was about 14 below with wind chills in the -25 to -30 range (and that was fairly typical for the few days we were there), we got about six inches of snow on Sunday and the winds blew it around so much that on Monday my father-in-law had to blade the driveway to let some friends come in to visit, then blade it again when they were ready to leave an hour and a half later.  Praise the almighty that I’m back in the South!
But before she got sick, my wife scored the line of the weekend.

My wife and I, along with my wife’s grandmother (mother’s mother) were put to the detail of putting together some photo collages for decorations at the bar.  My mother-in-law, always something of a drill sergeant, is in high dudgeon as she tries to pull together the details for the party.  So, after she showers and dresses and is just about to go over to the bar a few hours before the party was to start, she comes over to nitpick our work one last time.

Mother-in-law:  “Well, I’m leaving, I’m gonna stop barking orders.”
My wife [without missing a beat]:  “Why, are you planning on dropping dead?”

My mother-in-law didn’t think it was that funny, but HER mother thought it was hilarious.

Hopefully catch y’all tomorrow when I’ve got my head a bit more above water.

2 Responses

  1. LMAO! I love moments like that. Too funny.

    Glad you are back.

  2. Oh, it’s funny. You have to love it when lines like that present themselves quickly.

Leave a Reply

