Happy V-D

Is there really such a thing as “Happy VD?”  There probably is some sort of convoluted reasoning that ends in a punchline, but I can’t think of one right now.  I always remember the article one of my apartment-mates wrote for his weekly column in the college newspaper about how much Valentine’s Day sucked ass, and that the only good thing about relationships was that it kept his roommate (my friend AMP, actually) sleeping at his girlfriend’s place most of the time.

Personally, I’ve been married for ten years, and at this point (though not always) I can say that I’m “happily” married.  I still am not the hugest fan of Valentine’s Day.  So, this year, no card from me for the wife.  Instead, when the alarm went off, I woke her gently and got her presents that I’d retrieved from the hiding place in the basement at a little before 6 this morning:  a bag of all-green M&M’s (You know about the green ones, right?) for our road trip, a tube of Burt’s Bee’s lip balm for her awesome lips, a tin of Ghirardelli chocolates, and a CD that she kinda but didn’t completely know she wanted.  She was really happy.

“Aw, it was nothing,” I said.  “It’s the least I could do for the naked lady I woke up beside.  Oh, and if you see my wife, don’t let on…I didn’t get her anything.”

“Boy, you sure know how to take the thought right out of it,” she said (jokingly).  “It’s like you performed a thought-ectomy.”

I laughed.

“See?” she said, “You really have a shitload more blog material thanks to marrying me.”

“Yep, that I definitely do.”

We’re heading out on a road trip to the in-laws’ this afternoon, and I’ll be out of town until next Thursday or so.  I’m not saying exactly where it is we’re going, but according to the Weather Channel, as of right now the forecast high there tomorrow when we’ll actually pull in is a balmy 8 degrees.  Fahrenheit, not Celsius.  Damn, I know I used to live there, but I never got used to that shit, and I’ve been spoiled the last few years with not having to deal with it.  It’s enough to make my Southern ass want to sing “Dixie.”

So anyway, I’ll be incommunicado for a few days, including a thousand miles or so of interstate with an 8-year-old and a dog that will have to be walked at rest stops in subzero wind chills.  So in the hopes that y’all will think peaceful, warm thoughts for me, I’ve set a couple of posts to go up while I’m gone, so hopefully you won’t be TOO bored.  Y’all take ’em easy, and I’ll catch ya on the flip side.  Hopefully still sane and with no new physical scars.  Psychological scars…well, I’m not overly optimistic, but we’ll see.

See ya!

4 Responses

  1. Aw, damn, you’re going to miss my rage-fueled rant against coporate greed in America.

  2. You’re in my blog feed – I’ll catch it when I get back!

  3. Oh, and have fun on your vacay. Hope it’s not too stressful for you.

Leave a Reply

