Passing moments

It’s interesting when little moments have a lasting impact.  For some reason that I can’t pinpoint, last night a memory of one of those moments was particularly pleasant.

It was several years ago, when I was riding my motorcycle home after work.  I was taking a somewhat unusual route, as I was on the other side of campus for some reason I can’t remember.  I pulled up to a stop light in the left-turn lane, and took a glance around me.  To my right was a pretty girl in a small car.  From her clothes, hair, dangling things from the rear view mirror, I pegged her as an undergraduate at the university where I worked.  And she was giving me That Look.  Whoa!

I was behind my mirrored visor, of course (actually I think I was wearing this exact same outfit) so she really had no idea what I looked like.  At best she could see a couple of inches of my neck to tell I was white, and either a guy or a REALLY flat-chested girl.  She couldn’t tell how old I was, how bald I was, that I was wearing glasses under the helmet and my wedding ring under my gloves, any of that.  All she saw was a leather-clad dude on a bike.  And apparently she was liking what she saw.  And boy, was I liking that she was liking what she saw.

So what should I do?  Eyes front and ignore it, going on with life?  Raise the visor and wink through my glasses?  Do a burnout?  (Nope, never actually done one of those.)  What should I do?

I looked over at her, made eye contact (well, she couldn’t see my eyes, but…), and put my fingers to my chin and gave her a motion like I was blowing her a kiss.

She jerked her head and eyes forward, and sank down in her seat just a little bit.

Giggling like a mad woman.

The left-turn arrow turned green, and I pulled away and never saw her again.  But I grinned all the way home, and still sometimes the thought of that moment can dredge up a little grin.

2 Responses

  1. And I just get the guys who leer at me in the grocery store. LOL!

    Though Carrie’s bro did see my MySpace page and asked her who I was. LOL!

  2. THAT WAS YOU?!

    j/k

    But yeah, I think we’ve all had moments like that. Like the coffee cup guy from a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

