Hey, it worked!

My son has been out of school since the 21st.  He doesn’t go back until tomorrow.  I don’t get why the schools have been out so damned long, but whatever.

Yesterday morning, my wife said, “Ok, he has GOT to go to bed at his regular time tonight.”
“Why?” I asked.
“Because he’s just getting up, and it’s 8:00!  If we want to get him up at 6:30 on Tuesday, we’d better break him in gently.”
“Makes sense.”

Actually, later, he came to us and said he wanted me to get him up at 6:30.  I don’t know if he wanted more time in the day, or if he missed seeing me in the morning (awww) or what.  I DO know that those of you who have teenagers are telling me to kiss your ass right now, and all I can say is, I’m sorry, and I know I’ve got it coming.

At any rate, he pretty much willingly went to bed on time.  He’s always been good about that, actually, which makes me very very very lucky.  But here’s the funny part.

About 15 minutes after we put him to bed:

*knock knock* from his closed door.

Me, hollering from the living room, where my wife and I are watching our new “Scrubs:  Season 1” DVD:  “What is it, buddy?”

“My stomach is grumbling.” 

"Well, tell it to be quiet and go to sleep."

[slight pause]  "...OK."

And he GOES BACK TO BED.

My wife is, at this point, DYING laughing.

"Yep," I said, "There's my blog for tomorrow."

2 Responses

  1. LOL! Kids say and do the damnest things. Last night, after I tucked mine in (yes, I still “tuck in” my 17 yr old), I was laying on my bed watching a little tv while Paul got ready for work.

    The next thing I know, Sam (my youngest) is coming in to say goodnight just one more time and instead tuck ME in.

    LOL!

  2. You know, it’s times like that that I wonder if I made the decision not to be a mother a little too hastily. But then I snap out of it and realize kids in my family are holy terrors. There were no fuzzy moments like that, so I’m not missing much.

Leave a Reply

