Monday Music

I know it sounds like horseshit, but I was singing this song to myself off and on all weekend. Mostly it’s been because I’m thinking a lot about going home over the holiday, and there’s always a tiny possibility that I could run into my ex back home. Given the time of year and that situation, this song is a natural fit. I was going to set this one to be the Monday Music for December 31st. But since I learned this morning that Dan passed away, I think it’ll be better to run it today in tribute.

Dan Fogelberg, “Same Old Lang Syne”

I was never a big fan of Dan’s, honestly. When my now-wife moved in with me, she had this on a CD and played it for me that first New Year’s Eve, and while I’m still not a huge fan of Dan’s in general, I am a massive fan of this song. I think it’s one of the best songs I know of that clearly and plainly evokes not only a scene, but both lyrically and musically nails the correct emotion for that scene. It’s a beautiful marriage of imagery.

“Auld Lang Syne” also has deep emotional attachment for me for several reasons, several of which also concern the ex. All the more reason I was thinking of it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

