Whew.

Well, I’m winding down from the insanity of last week in the office.  And the weekend.  Since the chaos in the office had me ramped up, we figured we might as well ride it a bit longer, and so my wife and I tackled our long-awaited and long-delayed project of relocating her office (back) to the basement family room.  Woohoo!  A week of moving shit around, followed by a weekend of moving shit around!  Seriously, though, it was good to finally get that done.  Or at least mostly so.  We’ve been waiting long enough.

Now the office is more or less back to normal, and in some strange ways I miss the whirling mess of last week.  I was very occupied from the moment I got in to the moment I left, it was all prioritized so I didn’t have to debate it endlessly, blah blah blah.  But also I got to feel like my coworkers and I were working in a concerted team effort, which was good.  Our work tends to put us in different spheres for much of the time, just intersecting for small windows, and so this was a good thing to get us all engaged again, I think.  I felt good about it, at least.

Now I have to settle back into something of the old routine and see if I can do something better with it than before.

Tomorrow’s election day in this state, and I’m going to take my son with me in the morning to vote, to let him see the inside of the democratic process.  I was explaining it to him a bit this morning on the drive to school, and when we got there he was relaying it to one of the teachers.

“We’re going to go vote.  And you have to be 18 years old to do it by yourself.”
“That’s exactly right, son.”
“And if you get the most votes, Dad, you’ll be the winner!”
“Uh, not exactly.”
[His teacher]  “If he was running, your dad would get my vote!”

Perhaps more on how that goes tomorrow.  For now, I want to go get a few things done before possibly posting on the 2007 MotoGP racing season, now that it’s in the bag.

Oh, and I think I have pink eye.  WOOHOO!

Leave a Reply

