Monday Music

I’m off today (nyah!) so I’ve blogged this one in advance.  I’m speaking now to you in the future…you who have seen things I haven’t seen, know things I don’t know!

I’ve been playing my guitar again recently.  I regularly say “I need to practice more” and put forth an effort for a few weeks, and then something comes along that makes me put it aside for a while.  What can I say, it’s occasionally hard to carve out an hour a day when you’re a dad.  But I’m feeling it a little more now; the practice time seems less forced and more natural, which is good.

Plus I have more reasons to get my groove back.  Among other things, I’m going home for Christmas for the first time in several years.  For the last 5-6 years or so, Christmas with my family has meant a little acoustic bluegrass play-or-sing-along,  and that was BEFORE my uncle put together an actual bluegrass band that included two of my cousins and my younger brother.  I’m way out of practice; I gotta bone up to be able to keep up now!

So while I’m running through my Dorian and harmonic minor scales and trying to remember the chord progression to “Diary of a Madman,” I’m also trying to do some more simple bluesy stuff.  One of my favorite songs to play is this one:

Van Halen, “Black and Blue”

I’m a sucker for cross-genre covers (ask me about Tool as a country song sometime), so I play this one slowed way down as an acoustic blues song, and I flatter myself by saying it sounds damn good that way.

Hope everybody had a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

