Shifting Gears

Things have been quiet for me over the past several days because I was busy with a lot of pensive self-reflection.  That trend may continue a bit more than I’d like, but I’ll try not to be quite so quiet in the future.  In the meantime, let me try to explain:

In about a 6-month period from the fall of ’05 to spring of ’06, I:

1)  Wrecked my motorcycle and missed taking a guard rail to the lower spine by about 3″

a)  Scared the holy bejeezus out of my wife and child because the cell phone reception was so shitty that they figured out that I crashed but not that I wasn’t hurt

2)  Figured out that my son has a mild form of autism, and moved him to a private school with tuition in the general ballpark of $1k/mo

3)  Damn near got divorced.

Since that time, I feel like I’ve undergone a significant change as a person, because I’ve had to take a good hard look at my priorities in life.  I decided that a lot of them needed to change.  And we’re not talking superficial changes here, we’re talking serious changes of life direction.  These are changes that can’t be taken lightly and in fact are damned scary in lots of ways.  But I’m convinced it’s the right thing to do.

The decision has been difficult to make, to be sure, and in some manner I’ve been weighing it for over a year.  While over the last few days I’ve felt like the weight of figuring out my next move has been placed on me, the weight of deciding what to do has been lifted, and I feel better about myself.  I feel like I’ve made the right choice.  Time to move on and start the next phase of my life.

Sorry if all that sounds a bit cryptic; I’m just a hair gunshy about being too public about some things.  If you really want to know, drop me an email.

Thanks for listening, and catch you on the flip side.

3 Responses

  1. As someone once told me as I was just coming out of a very direction-less period of my life, “It’s very good to finally know where you’re going.” Now you just have to get there…but I think it’s going to be easier than you think.

    ~lb

    P.S. It’s okay to be silent. How else will you hear the thoughts in your head?

  2. […] that such a concept was quite different from my own instinct.  See, I’ve talked before about making big changes in my life.  And many of those changes, I’m proud to say, have been successful.  But at this moment, I […]

  3. […] have found this blog I’m toast for a myriad of reasons anyway.  As I’ve actually said (even more cryptically) before, even in multiple locations, I’ve decided to change […]

Leave a Reply

